The Sealed Archives

“Paul!  I think I heard something!”

“Ah, the lights are out!  It’s time!  Where do we go?”

“The archives are organized according to an old-fashioned scheme called the Dewey Decimal System.  It’s rather baffling, but if my research is correct, the Paladins’ records should be located in the southeast corner of this floor.”

“They should be in this general area.  Try those shelves over there.”

“Oh, wait, Paul!  I think I’ve found them!  Bring the flashlight over here.”

“I was right, Paul!  Here they are!”

“Let’s start getting these papers out.”

“Let’s see what we have here.  Records of donations to various charities . . . A menu from a Christmas dinner held at the Paladin Castle . . . Oh, here’s a list of Paladins who served in the Third Gulf War.”

“That would be after my time.  Let me know if you find anything dating from the 1990s.”

“Ask and ye shall receive!  Look!  A list of members, 1985-2000!  Here, do any of these names seem familiar?”

“Not really, but then, I’ve never heard anyone use specific names in my flashbacks.”

“Well, let’s keep looking.  Maybe we’ll come across something that jogs your memory.”

“See anything useful yet?

“No.  This is discouraging.  I supposed I hoped that something here that would explain everything I don’t know about my memories.  It working out that way, though.  We’ve been through every record at least twice and we’ve found nothing.  I hate to admit it, but I think it’s time to give up and go home.  How do we get out of here?”

“Oh, no.  Linnea?”

“Oh, Paul.  I . . . I don’t know how I could have been so stupid!  I’m really sorry!”

“Are you trying to tell me that you FORGOT to come up with a plan to get us out of here?  How could you have forgotten something that important!?!”

7 Responses to “The Sealed Archives”

  1. Yay! I flipp’n love this story. I noticed that you updated when I was at work and it was so exciting. I hope that things are going better with your sick relative.

    Linnea was getting really touchy-feely in that bathroom. And how could she have forgotten an escape plan?? I assumed that they would just try to leave the same way they came. But of course, that would mean spending the night in the bathroom.

    I was so hoping that they would find some clues! But now that they’re stuck in the library, I guess the night is still young.

    lol, “The Third Gulf War”

  2. Hooray! An update. I’m glad to see you’re somewhat back, Bev, and I truly hope everything is okay with your RL.

    Poor Linnea! Paul is being mean. Why couldn’t he come up with a plan, huh? I mean, she worked pretty hard on this, at least the getting them in there part. A little appreciation never hurts!

    As always, I really enjoy their interactions and the little glimpses at history. It’s always very hilarious! I can’t wait to see how they manage to get themselves out of this one.

    Your textless pictures flowed beautifully!

  3. OMG Welcome Back!!!! ❤ I hope things in RL are getting better for you, and that you have a wonderful Thanksgiving! Hang in there, girl.

    I’m so happy you updated! I realize RL always comes first; my own personal experiences remind me that they come first on a daily basis. However, OMG YOU UPDATED! SO so happy to see what happens at the Library. Of course I think you do such a brilliant job with the shots, especially the wordless shots leading into the scene. I had hoped Paul would find something to help him, but then again I’m glad he didn’t. That just means MORE adventures, right? ^.^

  4. Cool update! Anyways I hope they get out and maiby they could find something of interest in there? I just can’t wait to know what happens next! You know, this story kind of plays out like a movie in my head- I mean I acctually think of music that go with the scenes and what Linneas and Paul’s voices sound like.

  5. I agree with Mao, why must Linnea come up with all the plans. Paul should really put a little more effort into finding his own clues, Linnea seems to be doing all the work. I love how words are not needed, the pics say it all, very cool.

    I hope alls well with you in RL to, best wishes for the holiday season.

  6. LOL @ the third gulf war 🙂

    The waiting montages were fantastically done, and hilarious!

    Uh, oh! Silly Linnea! Can’t wait to see how they get out. Or how they entertain themselves while they’re waiting to get out 😉

    Yay for an update! I hope you and your family are doing well.

  7. Oh my, they are really the hilarious duo! I know they will end up in a bind as usual, ha ha! Man, that Paul really sound like a silly bimbo who can think for himself( i know bimbo is for girls), can’t he think for himself and why does Linnea had to do all the planning? If i’m linnea, i’ll give him a mighty kick in the you know where…

Leave a Reply

